Skip to content

My second task

Wednesday 4 July, 2012

I’ve recently been learning about passive and active voice. It’s not that I didn’t know what they were before, just that I never thought about when to use each one when writing. It turns out that most of the time, the answer is to use active voice. I often use passive voice, particularly in ‘formal’ senses, and it leads to sentences which are difficult to read, even as the author.

The rest of this is the typical story: I was cleaning my teeth and realised that music might also have active and passive voices, and it is high time I composed something new. Therefore, my second composition challenge is:

Write two short pieces, one page each. One must express passive voice, the other active voice. The deadline is one week away, next Wednesday night.

Let’s see how it goes! I will probably use the same post structure as last time, using the blog as a notebook for my thoughts in another post, then putting the final result and critique in the third post.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. That is quite insightful; I’ve never thought that active/passive voice could apply to music. Perhaps you should clean your teeth more often!

Leave a Reply

