Skip to content

Active voice score

Wednesday 11 July, 2012

Here is the final score for the Active Voice exercise. I did not have enough time to write one for passive voice, that will come by next Wednesday.

Op 5 Active voice – Full Score

I think this is my best work yet, as it should be. My thinking about this exercise has developed a lot since the previous post. It did not work for me to take the exercise literally, so I had a better idea: In active voice motifs would change, ‘causing’ the context to change, while in passive voice the motif would stay put and the context would change around it.

Things I like about this piece:

  1. It is possible for a person to play.
  2. The rhythm, melodies, and chords are not too inaccessible.
  3. The different parts flow together without too much disjointedness.
  4. The effect of morphing chords between hands bars 10-14, I’ll definitely develop that more in the future.
  5. The “counterpoint” bars 16-18, mainly because I haven’t much experience with counterpoint.
  6. The continuous bass note with changing chords bars 19-25.
  7. The broad, flat chord in bar 26 which reminds me of having the ground disappear from underneath, leaving you to fall…

I was considering writing what I dislike about it, but that won’t be much help until I have more experience writing music. Vielleicht later on I will do this exercise again and the motif/context idea will come through more clearly.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. angstycrayon permalink

    That looks complicated! Way better than anything I’ve composed.

    • Thank you! It is a little too complicated I think, too hard to play. Next piece is going to be much simpler.

      • angstycrayon permalink

        What software do you use to compose? I use Logic Studio 9.

      • I usually do most of the work with pencil&paper first, then nice-up the score with Sibelius 7. It does a pretty poor job of playback but that’s OK.

      • angstycrayon permalink

        Pencil and paper!? Are you serious? I tried it but couldn’t even get the treble clef to look right. Let alone the bloody notes!

      • Yes. I felt the same way when I started (January) but it seems to have got easier with practise, although I still draw some shocking treble clefs.

        I like the freedom paper gives, being able to write things when I think of them without having to decide every detail: e.g. leave out barlines; leave out rhythm; write music in reverse. Paper also has the advantage of being right there. There is no zooming in and out or navigating (apart from turning pages) so I can see a bigger picture. That said, paper is just my preference; you might find it simpler to write on the computer.

Leave a Reply

